Skip to content

Awards & Recognition

Institution Given Awards

B.H. Ketchum Award

Established in 1983 to honor an internationally recognized scientist who demonstrates an innovative approach to coastal research, leadership in the scientific community, and attention to the effects of marine pollution on the coastal environment and society.

Henry Bryant Bigelow Medal in Oceanography

The Bigelow Award is presented "to those who make significant inquiries into the phenomena of the sea."

Henry Melson Stommel Medal

This medal is to be awarded "to individuals who have made fundamental and enduring contributions to observing and understanding ocean processes."

Mary Sears Women Pioneers in Oceanography Award

This award recognizes long-term, life achievement and impact, with special consideration given to candidates who also have shown leadership through mentoring junior scientists, technicians, or students.