Skip to content
For WHOI personnel and vendors: COVID-19 Guidelines

Awards & Recognition

WHOI’s Amy Bower Wins Unsung Heroine Award

Amy Bower

Inspiration can come from unexpected sources. For Amy Bower, a physical oceanographer at the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution (WHOI), it was triggered by a mundane-sounding requirement entitled ?Criterion 2,? part of a standard research grant proposal to the National Science Foundation in 2004.

Read More

WHOI?s Bruce A. Warren Is Awarded Sverdrup Gold Medal

Bruce Warren

Bruce A. Warren?one of the world?s pre-eminent researchers of deep ocean currents and scientist emeritus at the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution (WHOI)?is the 2010 winner of the prestigious Sverdrup Gold Medal, awarded by the American Meteorological Society (AMS).

Read More

Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Program Receives AGU Award

GFDP AGU Award 2008

The founders of the Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Program at the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution (WHOI) have been selected by their peers as the 2008 recipients of the American Geophysical Union?s Excellence in Geophysical Education Award.

Read More

David Ralston Receives Young Investigator Award

David Ralston

The Office of Naval Research (ONR) has selected David Ralston, an assistant scientist at the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution (WHOI), as one of the recipients of the U.S. Navy’s 2008 Young Investigator Awards.

Read More

Hal Caswell Receives First Per Brinck Oikos Award

Hal Caswell

The Per Brinck Foundation has selected biologist Hal Caswell of the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution (WHOI), as the first recipient of the Per Brinck Oikos Award, which recognizes extraordinary and important contributions to the science of ecology.

Read More

Dennis McGillicuddy Receives 27th Annual Rosenstiel Award


The University of Miami?s Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Science has selected Dennis J. McGillicuddy, Jr., Ph.D., as recipient of the 2008 Rosenstiel Award. McGillicuddy, a senior scientist in the Department of Applied Ocean Physics and Engineering at WHOI is a pioneer in the study of physical-biological interactions in the ocean.

Read More

WHOI Geochemist Awarded for Contributions to Studies of the Physics of the Earth


The U.S. National Academy of Sciences has selected Stanley Hart of the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution as the 13th recipient of the Arthur L. Day Prize and Lectureship. Hart, a scientist emeritus in the WHOI Department of Geology and Geophysics, was recognized for making lasting contributions to the study of the physics of the Earth.

Read More

WHOI Scientist to Receive American Meteorological Society Award

A physical oceanographer known for his theories of wind driven ocean circulation and the fluid dynamics of the oceans will receive the 2005 Sverdrup Gold Medal from the American Meteorological Society (AMS), the nation’s leading professional society for scientists in the atmospheric and related sciences, in ceremonies January 12 at the AMS annual meeting in San Diego.

Read More