Skip to content

Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution Web Sites Nominated For “The Oscars of the Internet”

May 4, 2001

Two web sites developed by the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution (WHOI) are among the 135 sites nominated in more than two dozen categories for the 5th Annual Webby Awards, called by some “the Oscars of the Internet.” The 2001 awards will be presented by The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences July 18 at a ceremony at San Francisco’s War Memorial Opera House.

The Institution received two nominations in the science category for the general Institution web site ( and for the special exploration site “Dive and Discover” ( Five web sites are nominated in each category. Categories include activism, commerce, community, education, fashion, film, finance, games, government & law, health, humor, kids, living, music, news, and TV. The science category includes sites that distribute information related to scientific exploration and includes science exhibits, science museums, science organizations, science laboratories, and academic institutions.

It is a huge honor to have had two of our sites nominated, and a real tribute to Danielle Fino, web designer of both,” said Jacqueline Hollister, Associate Director for Communications, Development and Media Relations at WHOI. “Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution is committed to using the web to bring ocean research and exploration to the public. Both sites represent the efforts of teams consisting of members of the scientific and administrative staffs. Dive and Discover, co-funded by the National Science Foundation, particularly reflects a passionate commitment by scientists to excite and educate children about oceanography.

Nominees can be honored in two categories, the Webby Award and the People’s Voice Awards. The Webby Awards are nominated and selected by members of The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences. The People’s Voice Awards are nominated by members of the Academy and selected by the online community, which votes for its favorite sites. The July 18 award ceremony will be live via webcast. More than 3,000 people are expected to attend the ceremony.