Skip to content

Giving-Contact

Contact Us

The Development Office cultivates philanthropic giving in support of WHOI’s mission of research and education to advance understanding of the ocean.

About us

Our staff of professional fundraisers, writers and administrators connects individuals, corporations, and foundations to WHOI so they may contribute to a greater understanding of the ocean, our planet, and how we interact with these systems.

Private philanthropy has been an integral part of WHOI’s success since it was founded in 1930. Charitable organizations such as the Rockefeller Foundation helped establish the Institution’s endowment, funded the construction of new buildings and research vessels, and provided preliminary operating expenses. Today, private funding continues to support innovative ideas, technologies, and scientific discoveries. We are proud that WHOI has been named a four-star charity by Charity Navigator for 10 consecutive years-a distinction achieved by only two percent of U.S. charities.

WHOI Development Office

Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
266 Woods Hole Road, MS #40
Woods Hole, MA 02543-1050

Phone: (508) 289-4895
Fax: 508-457-2167
Email: development@whoi.edu

Leadership

Samuel Harp
Vice President for Advancement
and Chief Marketing Officer
Phone: (508) 289-2955
Email: sharp@whoi.edu

Court Clayton
Chief Development Officer
Phone: (508) 289-2545
Email: gclayton@whoi.edu

Major Gifts

Kimberly Benson
Director of Development, Annual,
and Planned Giving
Phone: (508) 289-3876
Email: kbenson@whoi.edu

James Barnes
Director of Major Gifts
Phone: (508) 289-3875
Email: james.barnes@whoi.edu

Jim Flynn
Director of Major Gifts and Planned Giving
Phone: (508) 289-2018
Email: jflynn@whoi.edu

Bridget Flynn
Director of Development, Principal Gifts, and Major Gifts
Phone: (508) 289-2881
Email: bridget.flynn@whoi.edu

Elizabeth Rivera
Director of Development, Principal Gifts, and Major Gifts
Phone: (508) 289-3850
Email: elizabeth.rivera@whoi.edu

Annual Giving

Annamarie Behring
Assistant Director, Annual Fund
Phone: (508) 289-3674
Email: abehring@whoi.edu

Victoria Smith
Assistant Director, Annual Giving and Prospect Research
Phone: (508) 289-3313
Email: victoria.smith@whoi.edu

Corporate and Foundation Relations

Paul Mastrodonato
Director of Corporate and Foundation Relations
Phone: (508) 289-3325
Email: paul.mastrodonato@whoi.edu

Erika Fitzpatrick
Associate Director of Corporate and Foundation Relations
Phone: (508) 289-3281
Email: efitzpatrick@whoi.edu

Mary Loftus
Sr. Administrative Assistant, II
Corporate and Foundation Relations
Phone: (508) 289-3772
Email: mary.loftus@whoi.edu

Special Projects & Events

Véronique C. LaCapra
Director of Special Projects, Advancement
Phone: (508) 289-2990
Email: vlacapra@whoi.edu

Rear Admiral Richard F. Pittenger, USN (Ret)
Special Assistant for Strategic Planning
Phone: (508) 289-2597
Email: rpittenger@whoi.edu

Dana Mock-Munoz de Luna
Director of Events and Donor Engagement
Phone: (508) 289-2997
Email: dmock@whoi.edu

Jessica Costello
Assistant Director of Development Events

 

Kayla Krieger
Sr. Administrative Assistant for Development Events

 

Advancement Operations & Stewardship

Peter LaBreck
Director, Advancement Operations & Stewardship
Phone: (508) 289-2621
Email: peter.labreck@whoi.edu

JeanneMarie Borgese
Assistant Director of Volunteer Leadership 
Phone: (508) 289-3218
Email: jeannemarie.borgese@whoi.edu

Allie Kulis
Senior Administrative Assistant II, Annual Fund, Gift Accounting & Advancement Services
Phone: (508) 289-2620
Email: Alexandra.Kulis@whoi.edu

Wendy Henley
Associate Director of Stewardship
Phone: (508) 289-3598
Email: whenley@whoi.edu

Andrea Early
Development Communications Coordinator
Phone: (941) 920-2797
Email: aearly@whoi.edu

Anne O'Brien
Assistant Director of Stewardship
Phone: (508) 289-3868
Email: anne.obrien@whoi.edu

Dina DiCarlo
Administrative Associate for the Chief Development Officer & Director of Advancement Operations and Stewardship
Phone: (508) 289-2475
Email: ddicarlo@whoi.edu

Cole Willett
Gift Accounting and Reporting
Phone: (508) 289-2383
Email: cole.willett@whoi.edu

Dan Meiggs
Sr. Administrative Assistant II
Phone: (508) 289-3003
Email: dmeiggs@whoi.edu