About Us

U.S. National Office for Harmful Algal Blooms

The Harmful Algae web page is maintained by the U.S. National Office for Harmful Algal Blooms with funding from NOAA's National Centers for Coastal Ocean Science (NCCOS), fulfilling the the requirement of the Harmful Algal Bloom and Hypoxia Research and Control Act (1998, reauthorized 2004, 2014) to improve communications and coordination.

The U.S. National Office for Harmful Algal Blooms was established to provide critical coordination and technical support capabilities that enhance the Nation's ability to respond to and manage the growing threat posed by HABs.  It provides information about HABs for the general public, serves as a “clearinghouse” for information related to national and international activities on HAB issues, and provides liaison with the scientific community and related research and management programs. One of its primary roles is to be a focal point for HAB research and information by organizing and providing for scientific community access to the latest research developments, workshop reports, research strategies, and related data and information.

Donald M. Anderson

Dr. Donald M. Anderson serves as Director of the U.S. National Office Harmful Algal Blooms, and is a Senior Scientist in the Biology Department of the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution.

     » Visit the Anderson Lab website

Mindy L. Richlen

Dr. Mindy Richlen is the Assistant Director of the U.S. National Office for Harmful Algal Blooms and is a Research Specialist in the Biology Department at Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution.

     » For more information about Mindy Richlen


The original Harmful Algae webpage was created in 1997 under the direction of Don Anderson, and is currently maintained by Mindy Richlen. We thank Bruce Keafer for his efforts in developing and maintaining this page, and we also thank Judy Kleindinst for her work as webmaster for many years.   We also thank the Graphics Department (specifically Katherine Joyce who designed the banner and style sheets) and the web development group (specifically Danielle Fino, Adam Shepherd, and Dina Pandya) for their help and guidance.  We also appreciate the many individuals who have sent us images or provided content for these pages.

Last updated: November 27, 2017