Skip to content

WHOI Elects Officers, Trustees and Corporation Members

May 15, 1999

Officers of the Corporation Elected May 13, 1999:

Chairman of the Board: James E. Moltz
President of the Corporation: James M. Clark
Director: Robert B. Gagosian
Vice President of the Corporation: Charles D. Hollister
Treasurer: Peter H. McCormick
Assistant Treasurer: Edwin W. Hiam
Clerk of the Corporation: Paul Clemente

New Corporation Members, Class of 2002:

William C. Brashares practices law and aids in legislative affairs in the Washington office of Mintz, Levin, Cohn, Ferris, Glovsky, and Popeo, P.C. He received his B.A. degree from the University of Virginia and his J.D. degree from the University of Michigan Law School.

Percy Chubb, III is the retired Vice Chairman of The Chubb Corporation and continues on the company’s Board of Directors. He is a Trustee and President of the Victoria Foundation and serves as a Trustee of Mystic Seaport Museum and the New Jersey Performing Arts Center. Mr. Chubb is a graduate of Yale University and attended Harvard Business School’s Advanced Management Program.

John S. Sculley, III is a partner in Sculley Brothers, a family investment capital firm which focuses on media-enabling technologies, Internet services, and consumer businesses. He is the former President and Chief Executive Officer of Apple Computer Inc. Mr. Sculley has an A.B. degree from Brown University and an M.B.A. degree from the University of Pennsylvania.

George E. Thibault is a founding partner and President of Learning Associates, Inc., which provides a wide range of educational programs in leadership, values, and management development to both government and business. He is also a director of Booz Allen & Hamilton, Inc. and is affiliated with the International Institute for Strategic Studies, the National War College, the Graduate School of Foreign Service at Georgetown University, and the Naval War College. He is a graduate of Tufts University, Boston University and George Washington University.

Warren M. Washington is a senior scientist and head of the Climate Change Research Section of the Climate and Global Dynamics Division of the National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR). He chairs the subcommittee on Global Change for the Health and Environmental Research Advisory Committee. In 1995 President Clinton appointed Dr. Washington to a six-year term to the National Science Board (NSB), which helps oversee the National Science Foundation and advises the Executive Branch and Congress on science-related matters. He was recently elected to the NSB Executive Committee and chairs its Task Force on Polar Issues.  In 1998 Dr. Washington was appointed to the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration’s Science Advisory Board. He earned B.S. and M.S. degrees from Oregon State University and a Ph.D. degree from Pennsylvania State University.

Thomas B. Wheeler is the Chairman of the Board of Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Company, having served as the company’s Chief Executive Officer and President.  He is Chairman of Jobs for Massachusetts and is the past Chairman of the Massachusetts Business Roundtable. He is a graduate of Yale University.

Eric A. Wittenberg is co-owner of Wittenberg-Livingston, Inc., a construction and development company. He is the past president of the Building Association of California, and is a recipient of that organization’s Builder of the Year award. He is a graduate of Stanford University.

Re-elected Corporation Members, Class of 2005:
Richard M. Burnes
William C. Cox
Craig E. Dorman
Lisina M. Hoch
Robert L. James
Paul J. Keller
Charles R. LaMantia
Joyce L. Moss
Maurice Tempelsman
Thomas J. Tierney

Honorary Members of the Corporation:
(elected at age 70)

Robert A. Frosch
Daniel S. Gregory
Breene M. Kerr
Elizabeth S. Warner

New Trustees, Class of 2003:

Robert D. Harrington, Jr. is President of Printers Express Co., Inc. and was previously Vice President of Garland, Harrington and Glick, Inc. He received his A.B. degree from Brown University and his M.B.A. degree from Columbia University School of Business. He also serves as President of the Associates program at WHOI.

Robert F. Hoerle is Managing Director and Chief Investment Officer of Reich & Tang L.P., a division of New England Investment Companies L.P., and is President of the Hoerle Foundation. He attended the Harvard Business School and Yale University.

Maurice Tempelsman is a Senior Partner of Leon Tempelsman & Son in New York City.  He is Vice President of the American Jewish Congress, serves on the International Advisory Council of the Harvard AIDS Institute, is a Trustee of the African-American Institute, and is a member of the International Advisory Council of the American Stock Exchange. He attended New York University.

John J. Wise is Vice President of Research at the Mobil Technical Center. He previously held the positions of Manager, Process and Products R&D (Paulsboro), Vice President of Planning, and Manager of Exploration and Production R&D (Dallas) at Mobil Research and Development Corporation. He received his B.S. degree from Tufts University and his Ph.D. from MIT.

Re-elected Trustees, Class of 2003

Sylvia A. Earle
George K. Moss
David G. Mugar

Honorary Trustees:
(elected at age 70)

Robert A. Frosch
Daniel S. Gregory
Breene M. Kerr