Skip to content

WHOI scientists win awards

Heidi Sosik and Colleen Hansel

2019 AGU Section Awardees and Named Lecturers

Two WHOI scientists were among 82 distinguished scientists to receive accolades from the AGU, the world’s largest Earth and space science society. They were selected for these prestigious honors for their sustained and unique contributions to advancing our understanding of Earth, its atmosphere and oceans, and planets and astral bodies beyond our own.

  • Colleen Hansel, Associate Scientist in Marine Chemistry & Geochemistry, won the William S. and Carelyn Y. Reeburgh Lecture Award 
  • Heidi Sosik, Senior Scientist in Biology at WHOI, won the Ocean Sciences Rachel Carson Lecture Award

» 2019 AGU Section Awardees and Named Lecturers

Jim Edson

American Meteorological Society (AMS) fellow

Another WHOI scientist, James Edson, Senior Scientist in Applied Ocean Physics & Engineering, was elected an American Meteorological Society (AMS) fellow for 2020. AMS recognizes outstanding individuals and organizations of the weather, water, and climate community.
» View the fellows