Skip to content

WHOI Elects Trustees/Corporation Members

June 4, 2002

Fourteen new Trustees and Corporation Members were elected at the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution’s recent spring meetings in Woods Hole. Officers of the Corporation and one Honorary Member were also elected, and 17 Trustees and Members were re-elected.

Highlights of the two-day meetings included an overview of the new Ocean Life Institute by Institute Director Laurence P. Madin, a senior scientist in the Biology Department, and several presentations by Ocean Life Institute Fellows on new research projects. The Ocean Life Institute is one of four new institutes within the Institution created in October 2000 as a means to encourage further interaction, cross-disciplinary research and collaboration as well as communication of societally relevant research results to the public and policy makers. Associate Scientist Scott Gallager of the Biology Department discussed “A New Role for the Commercial Fishing Fleet in Managing Sea Scallop Resources,” and Associate Scientist Simon Thorrold of the Biology Department explained his research using fish ear bones and other technology as a means of tracking specific populations in his presentation entitled “Lasers, Otoliths and Isotopes: Tracing Fish Movements Through Time.”

Elected Officers of the Corporation were: James E. Moltz of Darien, CT, Chairman of the Board; James M. Clark of Palm Beach, FL, and Woods Hole, MA, Chairman of the Corporation; Robert B. Gagosian of Falmouth, MA, Director and President; Peter H. McCormick of Marion, MA, Treasurer; and Carolyn A. Bunker of Falmouth MA, Clerk of the Corporation.

Elected to a four-year term as a Trustee in the Class of 2006 was Michele S. Foster of Portsmouth, RI, a principal of the architectural firm Foster Associates and an adjunct faculty member at the Roger Williams University School of Architecture. Re-elected to four-year terms as Trustees in the Class of 2006 were: Rodney B. Berens of Oyster Bay, NY, a principal of Berens Capital Management, LLC in New York, NY; and Paul J. Keeler of Greenwich, CT, and Hyannisport, MA, formerly a principal of Morgan Stanley Dean Witter, Inc.

Elected to a three-year term as Members of the Corporation in the Class of 2005 were: Peter A. Aron of New York, NY, President and Executive Director of the J. Aron Charitable Foundation, Inc. and President of Ridgefield, Inc.; Marshall N. Carter of Cambridge, MA, a Senior Fellow and Adjunct Professor at the John F. Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University; Noellette Conway-Schempf of Pittsburgh, PA, President and Chief Executive Officer of Automatika, Inc., a robotics and automation company; Marvin H. Davidson of Rye, NY, and Nantucket, MA, a managing partner of Davidson Kempner International Advisors, LLC; John R. Egan of Hopkinton and Cotuit, MA, a general partner and co-founder of Egan Managed Capital; Edward C. Forst of Bronxville, NY, a managing director, partner and chief of staff of the Global Fixed Income, Currency and Commodities Division of Goldman Sachs; Steven G. Hoch of Chestnut Hill, MA, formerly Senior Vice President of Pell Rudman, a Boston-based money management firm; Charles M. Lucas of New York, NY, and Deer Isle, ME, Vice President and Director of Market Risk Management, American International Group; Joseph C. McNay of Chestnut Hill, MA, Chairman, Chief Executive Officer and Senior Principal of Essex Investment Management Company of Boston, MA; James Rosenfield of Lexington, MA, Co-founder and Manager Director of Cambridge Energy Research Associates; John W. Sawyer of Lexington and Woods Hole, MA, whose family has a 30-year affiliation with the Institution; Gene R. Tremblay of Wayland, MA, and Jackson Hole, WY, a director of Equity Research and Trading at Wellington Management Company; and Vincent C. Webb of Greenwich, CT, and Boca Grande, FL, Founder and Principal of V.C. Webb & Associates, a financial consulting company. L. Thomas Melly of Greenwich, CT, a retired partner of Goldman Sachs and former Chairman of the Board of Hobart and William Smith Colleges, was elected an Honorary Member of the Corporation.

Re-elected to six-year terms as Members of the Corporation in the Class of 2008 were: William N. Bancroft of Medfield, MA, a partner in the law firm of J.M. Forbes & Co. in Boston, MA; William C. Brashares of Oxford, MD, a partner in the law firm of Mintz, Levin, Cohn, Ferris, Glovsky, and Popeo. P.C. in Washington, DC; Percy Chubb III of Bernardsville, NJ, Director of The Chubb Corporation, an insurance company; Victoria R. Cunningham of South Dartmouth, MA, formerly Assistant Director of Community Programming for the Foreign Policy Association; J.H. Dow Davis of Weston, MA, Executive Director of the Center for Business and Government at the John F. Kennedy School of Government, at Harvard University; John R. Drexel, IV of New York, NY, a principal of Drexel Associates in New York; and Kinnaird Howland of Providence, RI, a partner in the law firm of Edwards & Angell in Providence.

Others re-elected as Corporation Members are: Newton P.S. Merrill of Lyme, CT, Senior Executive Vice President of The Bank of New York; John S. Sculley, III, of New York, NY, a partner in Scully Brothers in New York City; Stephen P. Swope of Riverside, CT, formerly affiliated with Kidder Peabody & Co., Inc.; Richard F. Syron of Chestnut Hill and Osterville, MA, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Thermo Electron Corporation in Waltham, MA; Christopher R. Tapscott of Houston, TX, skill area advisor at Exxon Mobil Exploration Co. in Houston; Stephen E. Taylor of Milton, MA, Managing Director of Wheelhouse Corporation and former Executive Vice President of The Boston Globe; George E. Thibault of Alexandria, VA, director of the strategic consulting firm Booz Allen & Hamilton, Inc. in McLean, VA; and Thomas B. Wheeler of Naples, FL, and West Falmouth, MA, retired Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Company.