Please note: You are viewing the unstyled version of this website. Either your browser does not support CSS (cascading style sheets) or it has been disabled. Skip navigation.

Mechanical Shop

  Email    Print  PDF  Change text to small (default) Change text to medium Change text to large

Mechanic Richard

Mechanic Richard "Dicky" Edwards repairs part of a crane in the WHOI machine shop in 2007.  The crane is used for launching and recovering the Jason remotely operated vehicle. (Photo by Tom Kleindinst, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution)


Related Links

» Mechanical Shop Work Request Form
Planning a mechanical shop project?
Contact our Mechanical Engineer, Bob McCabe for design assistance, then submit a work order.

The Mechanical Shop consists of three different groups.

Instrument Group
The Instrument group is a fully equipped prototype machine shop with three-axis CNC milling capability and a CNC lathe. Its function is to design, (or assist with the design of), construct, modify, and repair precision components or assemblies of oceanographic instrumentation. The staff consists of highly experienced experimental machinists who are knowledgeable about the stresses induced by the oceanographic environment. Shipboard needs are also addressed when equipment repairs or installations are required on WHOI's fleet of vessels. This group can handle complex shaping and turning operations on ferrous and non-ferrous materials. In addition, complete capabilities, including welding, exist for fabrication of plastic components. A satellite shop resides at Clark South.

Mechanical Group
The Mechanical group staff has skilled mechanics who accomplish heavy repairs and installation of shipboard equipment including engines, generators, and winches. They assist with shore-side repair of the Institution's physical plant. Our mechanics assist the scientific staff with heavy construction of such scientific apparatus as mooring structures, dredges, and core samplers and lend a hand to the machinists by rough machining components.

Welding Group
The Welding group's capabilities include the ability to cut, form, and weld a wide variety of ferrous and non-ferrous materials. Heavily involved in shipboard repairs, installations, and cruise preparation , our welders are Mil-Std certified for shipboard pipe welding. Ultra-precision and delicate work is also part of this group's expertise as exhibited by the miniaturized welding done for stainless steel tubing on mass spectrometers. This shop is located in the Iselin building in the Village.

Staff
  Name Position Location Phone Email
  Robert McCabe Mechanical Shop Supervisor Iselin 262 (508) 289-2612 rmccabe@whoi.edu
  Dan McGovern Facilities Services Coordinator Iselin 141 (508) 289-2713 dmcgovern@whoi.edu
  Geoffrey Ekblaw Lead Welder Iselin 140 (508) 289-2716 gekblaw@whoi.edu
  Paul Keith Senior Welder Iselin 140 (508) 289-2716 pkeith@whoi.edu
  Anthony Delane Senior Welder Iselin 140 (508) 289-2716 adelane@whoi.edu
  James Brown  Lead Machinist Iselin 233 (508) 289-2245 jbrown@whoi.edu
  David Hamblin Senior Machinist Iselin 233 (508) 289-2245 dhamblin@whoi.edu
  Mark L. St. Pierre Experimental Machinist Clark South 185 (508) 289-2973 mstpierre@whoi.edu
  Scott Celeste Senior Machinist Iselin 233 (508) 289-2245 sceleste@whoi.edu
  Timothy Smith Machinist Iselin 233 (508) 289-2245 tsmith@whoi.edu
  Chris Rheaume Machinist Iselin 233 (508) 289-2245 crheaume@whoi.edu
  Don A. Collasius Machinist Iselin 233 (508) 289-2245 dcollasius@whoi.edu
  Jeff Hood Lead Mechanic Iselin 144 (508) 289-2255 jhood@whoi.edu
  Timothy Kling Mechanic Iselin 143 (508) 289-2716 tkling@whoi.edu
  Vic Miller Mechanic Iselin 144 (508) 289-2255 vmiller@whoi.edu
  Douglas Handy Mechanic Iselin 144 (508) 289-2255 dhandy@whoi.edu
  Brian Durante Mechanic Iselin 144 (508) 259-2255 bdurante@whoi.edu
  Richard Edward Jr. Mechanic (1/2 Time) Iselin 144 (508) 289-2255 redward@whoi.edu
  Joseph Harvey Shop Services Assistant Iselin 144 (508) 289-2255 jharvey@whoi.edu


Last updated: June 30, 2014
 


whoi logo

Copyright ©2007 Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, All Rights Reserved, Privacy Policy.
Problems or questions about the site, please contact webdev@whoi.edu
Site Map | WHOI.edu Internal | WHOI.edu External | Contact