Connect with WHOI:

WHOI Scientists Win a Boatload of Honors

WHOI Scientists Win a Boatload of Honors


Don Anderson

Don Anderson was recognized by
two groups for his research expertise and leadership in chronicling and
analyzing blooms of the harmful algae Alexandrium in New England
waters. The Massachusetts Marine Fisheries Advisory Commission awarded
Anderson its 2005 David L. Belding Award, which is given to “the
individual who has done the most to promote conservation and
sustainable use of the Commonwealth’s marine resources.”

The U.S. Food and Drug Administration gave a Group Recognition Award to
the Paralytic Shellfish Management Group, a federal advisory body on
which he serves. The FDA cited the group for “exceptional performance
in controlling shellfish resources of the Atlantic Ocean rendered
unsafe by the hazardous algal bloom of 2005.” Anderson is a
senior scientist in the WHOI Biology Department and director of the
WHOI Coastal Ocean Institute.

Jim Ledwell

Jim Ledwell won the 2007
Alexander Agassiz Medal by the U.S. National Academy of Sciences.
Ledwell, a senior scientist in the Department of Applied Ocean Physics
and Engineering, specializes in the use of chemical tracers to observe
currents in the ocean.

Established in 1913, the Agassiz Medal is awarded every three years to
an individual scientist for original and fundamental contributions to
oceanography. The academy cited Ledwell for his “innovative and
insightful tracer experiments using sulfur hexafluoride to understand
vertical diffusivity and turbulent mixing in the open ocean.”

To measure the mixing and stirring effects of eddies and internal
waves, Ledwell “marks” parcels of water by releasing harmless dyes or
chemicals from ships and then measures the subsequent dispersion
(sometimes for several years). Such work aids oceanographers in
understanding the circulation of the ocean and the transport of
nutrients, plankton, and pollutants in ocean ecosystems—all of which
are important to marine life and to the ocean’s role in climate change.

Past WHOI recipients of the Agassiz Medal include Henry Bigelow,
Columbus Iselin, Alfred Redfield, Fritz Fuglister, John Steele, and
Henry Stommel.

Nobumichi Shimizu

Nobumichi Shimizu was elected
by peers as a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of
Science (AAAS). Shimizu was selected for his pioneering work in the
development and application of secondary ion mass spectrometers in the
field of geochemistry and for furthering our knowledge of mantle

Shimizu is a senior scientist in the WHOI Department of Geology and
Geophysics, as well as founder and director of the Northeast National
Ion Microprobe Facility. AAAS is the world’s largest general scientific
society, and publisher of the journal Science.

Ralph A. Stephen

Ralph A. Stephen was named a
Fellow of the American Acoustical Society, the premier international
scientific society in acoustics. He was cited for “for contributions to
seafloor elastic wave propagation.”

Stephen is a senior scientist in the WHOI Geology and Geophysics
Department. The ASA has nearly 7,000 members in theoretical and applied
fields, ranging from physicists, engineers and oceanographers to
architects, musicians, and speech and hearing researchers.