Postdoctoral Scholars


With the aim of fostering interdisciplinary research addressing processes in the deep ocean, fellowships are available to support research associated with the OEI themes.  These Postdoctoral Scholar awards are offered to recipients of new or recent doctorates in the fields of chemistry, engineering, geology, geophysics, mathematics, meteorology, physics, and biology as well as oceanography.  The competitive awards are designed to further the education and training of the applicant with primary emphasis placed on the individual's research promise.

The best way to obtain more information about ongoing research is via the Institute web site.  The OEI currently has two on-going themes and one emerging theme.  Seafloor Observatory Science and Instrumentation encompasses investigations of the spatial and temporal scales required for observatories to study Earth's dynamic processes, and development of the necessary new sensors and instruments.  Fluid Flow in Geologic Systems focuses on how fluid flow and the resulting physical and chemical reactions geologically modify the earth, and influence where and how life exists.  Earth's Deep Biosphere is an emerging theme that encourages a systems approach to study of the marine subsurface biosphere.

Successful applicants can initiate their study and research period at the Institution any time after notification and before December 1st of the year the award is given.  Recipients will receive a stipend for an 18-month appointment, plus a relocation allowance.  All appointees are eligible for group health insurance.  In addition, limited support is available for travel expenses, equipment, supplies and special services.

These awards carry special recognition at the Institution.  Each recipient is encouraged to pursue his or her own research interests in association with a member of the resident staff.  Each awardee is provided with office and laboratory space in close proximity to the resident staff acting as sponsor and general advisor throughout the award period.

OEI Postdoctoral Scholars

Thibaut Barreyre

January 2014 - July 2015

David Barclay

August 2012 - May 2014

Véronique Le Roux

April 2011 - September 2012

Dorsey Wanless

September 2010 - April 2012

Frieder Klein

November 2009 - August 2011

Tetsuo Matsuno

November 2008 - May 2010

James Kinsey

August 2007 - February 2009

Zhengrong Wang

October 2007 - April 2009

Karyn Rogers

June 2006 - December 2007

Breea Govenar

May 2006 - December 2007

Olivier Rouxel

September 2003 - December 2005

Alexei Milkov

September 2002 - March 2004