Please note: You are viewing the unstyled version of this website. Either your browser does not support CSS (cascading style sheets) or it has been disabled. Skip navigation.


   Print  PDF  Change text to small (default) Change text to medium Change text to large

In addition to being a large, international program, the U.S. GEOTRACES effort involves many institutions within the U.S. It is a truly an international, multi-institutional effort.

When planning first began for this cruise, we surveyed all U.S. participants asking for the number of scientists they planned to have on board. For a ship with 32 science berths, we received requests for 49 berths. After long negotiation, discussion, and planning, we managed to distill this to 31 participants, plus a “scientific observer” required for permission to enter the waters of Mauritania. This means that, on average, everyone on board will be doing the work of 1.5 people, supporting not only their own research, but others who could not come along, as well.

Also, more than one-third of our scientists will either be PhD students or recently graduated scientists. We hope these young people will not only carry much of the research burden of the program, but will also carry the GEOTRACES torch into the coming decades.

Participant List

Dr. William Jenkins, Chief Scientist, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

Dr. Ana Aquilar-Islas, University of Alaska Fairbanks

Ms. Susan Becker, University of California San Diego

Ms. Katlin Bowman, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

Dr. Edward Boyle, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Dr. Kristen Buck, Bermuda Institute of Ocean Sciences

Mr. Gonzalo Carrasco Rebaza, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Dr. Joaquin Chaves Cedeño, National Aeronautics and Space Administration

Dr. Gregory Cutter, Old Dominion University

Ms. Jessica Fitzsimmons, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Mr. Christopher Hayes, Lamont Doherty Earth Observatory

Mr. Benjamin Gire, Scripps Institution of Oceanography

Mr. Eugene Gorman, Lamont Doherty Earth Observatory

Dr. Mariko Hatta, University of Hawaii

Mr. Jeremy Jacquot, University of Southern California

Dr. Carl Lamborg, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

Dr. Christopher Measures, University of Hawaii

Dr. Paul Morris, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

Mr. Peter Morton, Florida State University

Ms. Abigail Noble, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

Mr. Daniel Ohnemus, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

Ms. Stephanie Owens, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

Dr. Katharina Pahnke, University of Hawaii

Mr. Robert Palomares III, University of California San Diego

Ms. Sara Rauschenberg, Bigelow Laboratory for Ocean Sciences

Ms. Mary Johnson, University of California San Diego

Ms. Rachel Shelley, Florida State University

Mr. Geoffrey Smith, University of California Santa Cruz

Ms. Bettina Sohst, Old Dominion University

Mr. Oliver Wurl, Old Dominion University

Mr. Kuanbo Zhou, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution (will sail if observer doesn’t go)

Ms. Louise Zimmer, Old Dominion University

Dr. Moulaye Mohamed Wagne, Mauritania Institute for Oceanographic Research

Mr. Robert Laird, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

Mr. Anton Zafereo, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

Last updated: September 9, 2013

whoi logo

Copyright ©2007 Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, All Rights Reserved, Privacy Policy.
Problems or questions about the site, please contact