Please note: You are viewing the unstyled version of this website. Either your browser does not support CSS (cascading style sheets) or it has been disabled. Skip navigation.

Brief Biographies of Speakers and Organizers

  Email    Print  PDF  Change text to small (default) Change text to medium Change text to large

Keynote Speakers at Morss Colloquium
Caitlyn Antrim
Executive Director, Rule of Law Committee for the Oceans (USA)

Rod Eggert
Professor and Division Director, Economics and Business, Colorado School of Mines (USA); Chair, Committee on Critical Mineral Impacts on the U.S. Economy (report published 2008); Editor, Resources Policy (1989 - 2006)

Nii Allotey Odunton
Secretary-General, International Seabed Authority (Jamaica)

Maurice Tivey
Department Chair and Senior Scientist, Geology and Geophysics, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution (USA)

Invited Speakers and Panelists at Science and Policy Workshop
Please note that we will list our invited speakers once our agenda is finalized.

Sabine Christiansen
Project Manager, WWF Project on Marine Protected Areas (MPAs) in the North-East Atlantic Ocean, World Wildlife Fund

Samantha Smith
Environmental Manager, Nautilus Minerals Inc.

Philomene Verlaan
Oceanographer and Attorney-at-Law, School of Ocean and Earth Science and Technology, University of Hawai'i; IMMS: Coordinator, IMMS Marine Mining Environmental Code Review, Executive Board Member and Secretary

Workshop Organizing Committee
InterRidge logoInterRidge Working Group for Seafloor Mineralization
Chair - Maurice Tivey (WHOI, USA)
Group Members - Georgy Cherkashov (Russia), Yves Fouquet (France), Mark Hannington (Canada), Yasuhiro Kato (Japan), Jonguk Kim (Korea), Lisa Levin (USA), Rachel Mills (UK), K. A. Kamesh Raju (India), Xuefa Shi (China), Ingunn Thorseth (Norway), and Cindy Van Dover (USA)

Chris German
Chief Scientist for Deep Submergence and Senior Scientist in Marine Geology and Geophysics, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution (USA); Co-Chair, ChEss program of the Census of Marine Life; Co-Chair, InterRidge

Paul Tyler
Professor, Ocean Biogeochemistry and Ecosystems, National Oceanography Centre, Southampton (UK); Co-Chair, ChEss program of the Census of Marine Life

Jian Lin
Senior Scientist, Marine Geology and Geophysics, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution (USA); Chair, InterRidge

Porter Hoagland
Senior Research Specialist, Marine Policy Center, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution (USA )

Contact for Workshop and Morss Colloquium
Stace Beaulieu
InterRidge Coordinator and Research Specialist in Biology, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution (USA)

Last updated: March 17, 2009

whoi logo

Copyright ©2007 Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, All Rights Reserved, Privacy Policy.
Problems or questions about the site, please contact