WHOI Waypoints: Senior Scientists Earn Prestigious Chairs


Three Senior Scientists were awarded five-year chair appointments for excellence in oceanography at the October joint meeting of the Board of Trustees and Members of the Corporation. The presentations were made by Institution Director Bob Gagosian. Geologist Peter Kelemen received the Charles F. Adams Chair. The Stanley W. Watson Chair went to geochemist Dan Repeta, and marine mammal expert Peter Tyack was awarded the Walter A. and Hope Noyes Smith Chair.