WHOI Waypoints: Two Elected to Academy


The American Academy of Arts and Sciences has added two WHOI scientists to its membership. Senior Scientist Jack Whitehead (Physical Oceanography) and WHOI President and Director Robert Gagosian were chosen to join the 2002 class of 177 fellows and 30 foreign members. This year’s inductees include National Science Foundation Director Rita R. Colwell, Senator Edward M. Kennedy, violinist Itzhak Perlman, and Academy Award winner Anjelica Huston. They will be formally inducted in October 2002 at the Academy’s headquarters in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

The Academy was founded in 1780 by John Adams, James Bowdoin, John Hancock, and other scholar-patriots “to cultivate every art and science which may tend to advance the interest, honor, dignity, and happiness of a free, independent, and virtuous people.” The current membership includes more than 150 Nobel laureates and 50 Pulitzer Prize winners. Several WHOI Scientists have been elected in previous years, including John Hayes (Geology and Geophysics), Joseph Pedlosky (Physical Oceanography), Hal Caswell (Biology), and former Institution Director John Steele.