WHOI  WHOI People  

George P. Panteleyev Award

The George “Gera” Pavlovich Panteleyev Award is conferred annually on the MIT/WHOI or WHOI Graduate Student in the graduating class for that academic year who best exemplifies the commitment to improving the graduate education experience and graduate student life at the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution.

This award honors the memory of George “Gera” P. Panteleyev.  Gera was an MIT/WHOI Joint Program graduate student actively engaged in his Masters thesis research project as the Chief Scientist of a research cruise on the Ob River in Siberia in June 1995 when he was swept overboard in an accident and lost.  His dedication to research in conjunction with improving life for his fellow Russian citizens and his enthusiasm for graduate student life at WHOI were much admired.

The George P. Panteleyev Award consists of a plaque with the recipient's name and the date engraved, and a cash award.  Nominations are sought each year from current and graduating Joint Program students, as well as faculty and staff.  The award is presented at the annual WHOI Graduate Reception in June.

List of Eligible Graduating Students on the September 2014, February 2015, and June 2015 Degree Lists

Amalia Almada

Heather Beem

Min Ding

Elizabeth Drenkard

Andrea Dubin

Stephen Elliott

Jonathan Fincke

Erin Fischell

Katherine French

Santiago  Herrera Monroy

Kristen Hunter-Cevera

Jennifer Landry

Matthew Lewis

Jill McDermott

Jean-Arthur Olive

Marilena Oltmanns

Milutin Pajovic

Stephanie Petillo

Brooks Reed

Alexandra Patricia Tcaciuc

Britta Voss

Ping Zhai


» View a list of past Award Recipients