Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

Physical Oceanography

Awards and Recognition
email this pageEmail to a Friend

  • Ken Brink was named Chief Scientist for Ocean Research Interactive Observatory Networks (ORION) in Washington DC, splitting his time between Woods Hole and Washington.

  • Nan Galbraith won the Linda Morse-Porteous Award, established to recognize a female technician for her leadership, dedication to and quality of work, abilities as a role model and/or mentor for junior women, and involvement in the WHOI community.

  • Karl Helfrich was reappointed to a second term as the J. Seward Johnson Chair/Educational Coordinator for the Physical Oceanography Department.

  • John M. Toole was elected an American Geophysical Union Fellow.

  • Bruce Warren received the Ewing Medal from the American Geophysical Union for “contributions to the understanding of the general circulation of the ocean, including water mass formation by sea-air interaction, deep and surface boundary currents and interior flow, planetary waves, and the impact of global integral momentum constraints on ocean circulation.”

Copyright ©2005 Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, All Rights Reserved.

Mail: Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, 266 Woods Hole Road, Woods Hole, MA 02543, USA.
E-Contact: info@whoi.edu; press relations: media@whoi.edu, tel. (508) 457-2000

Home | Site Map | Contact