Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

Science Policy
email this pageEmail to a Friend

Scientists at WHOI contribute to the discussion of science policy issues at the state, national, and international levels. A selection of their activities in 2004 is given here.

Don Anderson
Director, U.S. National Office for Marine Biotoxins and Harmful Algal Blooms

Carin Ashjian
Co-Vice Chair, Arctic Icebreaker Coordinating Committee, University-National Oceanographic Laboratories System (UNOLS)

Bob Detrick
Member, Board of Governors, Joint Oceanographic Institutions (JOI)

Chair, Advisory Committee, NSF Geosciences Directorate

Member, Board of Governors, International Ocean Drilling Program (IODP) Management International

Scott Doney
Member, Global Carbon Cycle Panel, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Katrina Edwards
Member, Biogeosciences Working Group, National Science Foundation

Glen Gawarkiewicz
Member, Steering Committee, NSF Coastal Ocean Processes Program

Rocky Geyer
Member, National Academy of Sciences/National Research Council (NAS/NRC) Ocean Studies Board

Mark Hahn
Member, Expert Review Panel, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Framework for Application of Dioxin TEF Methodology in Ecological Risk Assessment

Stan Hart
Member, NAS/NRC Ocean Studies Board

Lloyd Keigwin
Chair, Rapid Climate Change Programme Steering Committee, Natural Environment Research Council, U.K.

Dennis McGillicuddy
Member, Steering Committee, U.S. Global Ocean Ecosystems Dynamics Program (GLOBEC)

Laurent MontÚsi
WHOI Representative, Computational Infrastructure in Geosciences, National Partnership for Advanced Computational Infrastructure

John Stegeman
Chair, Institute of MedicineľNational Academy of Sciences Committee on Health Effects of Agent Orange in Vietnam Veterans

Simon Thorrold
Connectivity Working Group, Coral Reef Targeted Research and Capacity Building for Management, World Bank-led Alliance

Meg Tivey
Co-Chair, Ocean Research Interactive Observatories Networks (ORION) Workshop Steering Committee

Bob Weller
Co-Chair, U.S. Climate Variability and Predictability (CLIVAR) Science Steering Committee

ORION Executive Steering Committee

National Research Council Committee on Strategic Guidance to the Atmospheric Sciences Division, National Science Foundation

Peter Wiebe
Chair, UNOLS

U.S. Representative, Oceanography Committee, International Council for Exploration of the Sea

Member, Steering Committee, U.S. GLOBEC

Copyright ©2005 Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, All Rights Reserved.

Mail: Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, 266 Woods Hole Road, Woods Hole, MA 02543, USA.
E-Contact: info@whoi.edu; press relations: media@whoi.edu, tel. (508) 457-2000

Home | Site Map | Contact