Appendix IX

WHOI-CICOR

Investigators' Recent Honors, Awards and Distinctions

Donald M. Anderson

Senior Scientist, Biology Department, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

- Director, U.S. National Office on Marine Biotoxins and Harmful Algal Blooms (1993present)
- NOAA Earth Day Environmental Hero Award (1999)
- U.S. Representative, Working Group on Phytoplankton and Management of their Impacts, International Council for Exploration of Seas (ICES) (1989-present)
- Member, PICES Working Group #15, Ecology of Harmful Algal Blooms (1999– present)
- Scientific Advisor, U.S. Delegation to the IOC/FAO Intergovernmental Panel on Harmful Algal Blooms (1992-present)
- Member, Scientific Steering Committee, GEOHAB (The Global Ecology and Oceanography of Harmful Algal Blooms) (1998-2003)
- Academic Consultant for the Key Laboratory of Marine Ecology and Environmental Sciences, Institute of Oceanology, Chinese Academy of Sciences (2002-2007).
- Advisory Committee Member, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, School of Science (2002-2007)

Robert Beardsley

Senior Scientist, Physical Oceanography Department, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

- Walter A. and Hope Noyes Smith Chair for Excellence in Coastal Research (1996-2001)
- Co-Editor, DeepSea Research II GLOBEC Georges Bank Special Issue II (1998-2000)
- Member, NSF Oceanography Decadal Science Review Committee, (1998-2000)
- Chair, OMSAP Model Evaluation Group (1999-2001)
- Co-Editor, Journal of Geophysical Research Oceans Georges Bank PO section (2001-2003)
- Member, NRC Board on Atmospheric Sciences and Climate (2002-present)

Rui Xin Huang

Senior Scientist, Physical Oceanography Department, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

- Recipient, W. Van Alan Clark, Sr./W. Van Alan Clark, Jr. Award in January 2002
- Chairman of the Academic Committee, the National Key Laboratoy of Physical Oceanography, Qingdao Ocean University, China (199-present)
- Member, Advisory Academic Committee of the National Key Laboratory of Numerical Modeling for Atmospheric Sciences and Geophysical Fluid Dynamics (LASG), Institute of Atmospheric Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences (2001-present)
- Member, Advisory Committee, Ocean and Climate Change Institute, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution (2001-present)

Dennis McGillicuddy

• Recipient, Office of Naval Research Young Investigator Award - 3/18/1998

Andrey Proshutinsky

Associate Scientist, Physical Oceanography Department, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

• ONR Chair in Arctic Marine Science, Naval Postgraduate School, Monterey, CA (1999-2000)

Bernadette Sloyan

- Recipient, The American Meteorological Society's Editor's Award, 2003
- Fellow, Ocean and Climate Change Institute (2004-present)
- Global Synthesis and Observations Panel (GSOP), CLIVAR (2004-present)
- Co-Convenor, Open session on global ocean circulation, EGS, Nice, France, 2004

John Toole

- Recipient, The Columbus O'Donnell Iselin Chair for Excellence in Oceanography, January 2005
- Member, Phi Beta Kappa, Phi Kappa Phi, Sigma Phi Sigma
- Fellow of the American Geophysical Union 2004

Robert Weller

- Fellow, American Meteorological Society, 2002
- Recipient, Sverdrup Gold Medal 2003
- Secretary of the Navy/CNO Chair in Oceanography (1999-2002)

Peter Wiebe

- Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science (1984-)
- Member, Phi Kappa Phi
- NOAA Earth Day Environmental Hero Award (1999)