Please note: You are viewing the unstyled version of this website. Either your browser does not support CSS (cascading style sheets) or it has been disabled. Skip navigation.


   Print  PDF  Change text to small (default) Change text to medium Change text to large

Although there is a relationship between the Homeland Security Advisory System (HSAS) and the three Maritime Security levels, it is important to recognize that the changing of the HSAS level does not automatically constitute a corresponding change of the MARSEC level. The Coast Guard, via the Captain of the Port, will evaluate local conditions and when appropriate, directly notify the maritime community of any changes to the MARSEC levels using pre-establish methods.

MARSEC Level 1
means that the threat of an unlawful act against a terminal or vessel is, though possible, not likely.

MARSEC Level 2
means that an unlawful act against a vessel or terminal is possible, and intelligence indicates that terrorists are likely to be active within a specific area, or against a type of vessel or terminal.

MARSEC Level 3
means an unlawful act against a vessel or terminal is probable or imminent and intelligence indicates that terrorists have chosen specific targets.

Last updated: May 3, 2018

whoi logo

Copyright ©2007 Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, All Rights Reserved, Privacy Policy.
Problems or questions about the site, please contact
Site Map | Internal | External | Contact