Lab Members

Print version E-mail to a friend
Text Size: Change text to small (default) Change text to medium Change text to large
Enlarge Image
Amy Maas conducting respirometry measurements aboard  the Oceanus

Enlarge Image
Joint program Amalia Aruda spotting whales during a 2010 cruise. Amalia was collecting copepods for studies of gene expression and microbial associations. Her studies were part of a larger effort aimed toward investigating whale foraging behavior and interactions with zooplankton.

Enlarge Image
Ann Tarrant
sampling killifish in Scorton Creek

Enlarge Image

Adam Reitzel, collecting Nematostella (sea anemones) in Sippewissett Marsh

Ann Tarrant, Ph.D.

Associate Scientist
See also Ann's personal page and Ann's WHOI profile

Amy Maas, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Investigator
(2011-Present, Co-supervised by Dr. Gareth Lawson)
See also: Amy's profile

One project that Amy is currently pursuing, is to characterize physiological and molecular effects of exposure to elevated carbon dioxide and to hypoxia on theocosomate (shelled) pteropods. These  pteropods produce a shell from a highly soluble form of calcium carbonate (aragonite), and they may be particularly sensitive to the effects of ocean acidification.

Amalia Aruda, B.S.

Joint program student.
See also: Amalia's profile

Amalia is characterizing interactions between calanoid copepods and microbes, especially bacteria in the Genus Vibrio. She is interested in whether/how copepods detect microbial epibionts,  whether they are able to regulate the composition of their associated bacterial community, and effects of microbial associations on copepod physiology.

Maja Edenius, B.S,

Joint Program Student

Maja  joined the lab in summer 2012. She is interested in molecular regulation of stress responses, including effects of starvation. She is particularly interested in the evolution of stress responses, and will be conducting some experiments with the sea anemone, Nematostella.

Former Lab members


Adam Reitzel, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Scholar/Fellow (2007-2012)
Assistant Professor
Department of Biology
University of North Carolina Charlotte
Adam's lab website

Neal Cantin, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Investigator (2008-2011)
Currently (2013) at Australian Institute of Marine Science.

Summer Student Fellows:
Amy Streets
Summer Student Fellow from University of Maryland (2012)

Alexis Fisher
Summer Student Fellow from Wesley College (2010)
2013: Graduate Student, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

Abigail LaBella
Summer Student Fellow from American University (2009)
2013:  Graduate Student, Duke University

Guest Students:
Caitlin Church

Guest student from University of San Diego (2012)

Javar Henry
Guest student from Savannah State University (2012)

Imke Podbielski
Guest student from University of Kiel, Germany (2012)

Chun Kit "Jacky" Kwok
Guest student from Chinese University of Hong Kong (2011)

Lars Berhendt, Ph.D.
Guest student from University of Hamburg, Germany (2009)
2013: Postdoc, University of Copenhagen
Department of Biology
Lars' web profile

Allison Tracy
Guest student from Princeton University (2008)
2012: Graduate Student, Cornell University


WHOI logo

rss headlines

Last updated November 8, 2013
© Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution. All rights reserved