WHOI  WHOI People  

2010 Lecture Series Schedule

"Swirling and Swimming in Turbulence" - June 21 - August 27


Monday, June 21

Lecture 1 - 10:00 AM

Stirring and Mixing
Jean-Luc Thiffeault, University of Wisconsin, Madison


Tuesday, June 22

Lecture 2 - 10:00 AM

Introduction to Biological models
Glenn Flierl, MIT


Wednesday, June 23

Lecture 3 - 10:00 AM

Effective Diffusivity and Swimming Organisms
Jean-Luc Thiffeault, University of Wisconsin, Madison

Lecture 4 - 2:30 PM

Tutorial:  Eddy Diffusivity and Active Scalars
Glenn Flierl, MIT


Thursday, June 24

Lecture 5 - 10:00 AM

Local Stretching Theories
Jean-Luc Thiffeault, University of Wisconsin, Madison


Friday, June 25

Lecture 6 - 10:00 AM

Social Behavior, Mixing, and the Evolution of Schooling
Glenn Flierl, MIT


Monday, June 28

Lecture 7 - 10:00 AM

Mixing in the Presence of Sources and Sinks
Jean-Luc Thiffeault, University of Wisconsin, Madison

Lecture 8 - 2:30 PM

Tutorial:  How to Write an Ecological Model
Antonello Provenzale, Istituto di Scienze Dell'Atmosfera


Tuesday, June 29

Lecture 9 - 10:00 AM

Examples at the Mesoscale
Antonello Provenzale, Istituto di Scienze Dell'Atmosfera


Wednesday, June 30

Lecture 10 - 10:00 AM

Dynamics of Heavy Impurities with Finite Size
Antonello Provenzale, Istituto di Scienze Dell'Atmosfera

4:30 PM

Project Discussions


Thursday, July 1

Lecture 11 - 10:00 AM

Plankton Sinking and the Role of Turbulence
Antonello Provenzale, Istituto di Scienze Dell'Atmosfera


Friday, July 2

Lecture 12 - 10:00 AM

Evolutionary Models:  Movement and Mixing in Trait and Physical Space
Glenn Flierl, MIT



Monday, July 5

HOLIDAY - No lectures


Tuesday, July 6

10:30

Two Particle Separations in 2-D Turbulence
Joe LaCasce, University of Oslo


Wednesday, July 7

10:30

Sub-Mesoscale Turbulence in the Ocean:  How does it Affect the Oceanic Carbon Cycle
Marina Levy, LOCEAN

1:30

Modelling Turbulent Mixing in Two-Dimensions using Stochastic Differential Equations
Lennon O'Naraigh, Imperial College London


Thursday, July 8

10:30

Biologically Generated Turbulence in the Ocean
Eric Kunze, University of Victoria

2:30

Modification of the Air-Sea Interaction and Near-Surface Turbulence by Surfactants
Alexander Soloviev, NOVA Southeastern University


Friday, July 9

10:30

Inertial Effects in G.I. Taylor's Swimming Sheet
Steve Childress, New York University

2:30

Beach Creation by Breaking Waves
Onno Bokhove, University of Twente


Monday, July 12

10:30

Double-Feature:  Reactive Mixing and Turbulent Energy Injection
Yue-Kin Tsang, Scripps Institution of Oceanography


Tuesday, July 13

10:30

Three Experiments:  On the Morphology of Icicles, Patterns in Meandering Syrup and Electroconvection in Thin Films
Steve Morris, University of Toronto


Wednesday, July 14

10:30

Upper Bounds Yield Lower Order Models
Greg Chini, University of New Hampshire

2:30

Demographic Stochasticity versus Spatial Variation in the Competition between Fast and Slow Dispersion
Charlie Doering, University of Michigan


Thursday, July 15

10:30

Mixing in Thermal Convection:  The Case of Rayleigh-Taylor Turbulence
Guido Bofetta, INFN ICTR


Friday, July 16

10:30

Title to be announced
Tom Powers, Brown University

2:30

Mesoscale Diagnosis
Baylor Fox-Kemper, University of Colorado at Boulder


Monday, July 19

10:30

Tip Growth of a Walled Cell
Lakshminarayanan Mahadevan, Harvard University

2:30

Drumlins
Andrew Fowler, University of Limerick


Tuesday, July 20

10:30

From Bioturbation to Channelization
Amala Mahadevan, Boston University


Wednesday, July 21

10:30

Particle Diffusion in a Bubbly Liquid
Andrew Belmonte, Penn State University


Thursday, July 22

10:30

Vertical Velocities and the Ocean Mesoscale
Annalisa Bracco, Georgia Institute of Technology


Friday, July 23

10:30

Magma Transport in the Mantle
Ian Hewitt, University of British Columbia


Monday, July 26

10:30

Onset and Cessation of Convection in Porous Media
Anja Slim, Harvard University


Tuesday, July 27

10:30

Flagellated Bacteria, Motility and Mixing
Ken Breuer, Brown University


Wednesday, July 28

10:30

Nonequilibrium Fluctuations and Climate Variability
Jeff Weiss, University of Colorado, Boulder

2:30

Lateral Mixing by Submesoscale Processes
Gualtiero Badin, Boston University


Thursday, July 29

10:30

Some Doubly Diffusive Memories of Melvin Stern
George Veronis, Yale University


Friday, July 30

10:30

Bacteria Foraging in Turbulent Waters
John Taylor, MIT


Monday, August 2

10:30

Transport by River Plumes and Collapsing Mixed Regions
Bruce Sutherland, University of Alberta

2:30

Boundary Layers in Braginsky Magneto Hydro Dynamics
Paul Dellar, University of Oxford


Tuesday, August 3

10:30

Non-gaussian Buoyancy Statistics in Fingering Convection
Francesco Paparella, University of Salento


Wednesday, August 4

10:30

Mechanism of a Splash
Shreyas Mandre, Harvard University

2:30

Hotspots
Matt Finn, University of Adelaide


Thursday, August 5

10:30

Convection and Biological Productivity at Fronts
Raffaele Ferrari, MIT

2:30

On the Efficiency and Stability of a Size Dependent Ecosystem Model
Amit Tandon, University of Massachusetts, Dartmouth


Friday, August 6

10:30

Title to be announced
Roman Stocker, MIT

2:30

Optimal Solute Fluxes in Solidification:  Variational Principles, Hysteresis and Chimney Spacing
Andrew Wells, Yale University


Monday, August 9

10:30

Transforming the Mean Meridional Circulation of the Atmosphere
Tiffany Shaw, Courant Institute of Mathematical Science

2:30

Feeding and Swimming Currents and Jumping Vortices in Planktonic Copepods
Houshuo Jiang, WHOI


Tuesday, August 10

10:30

Reducing Continuous Symmetries of Flows between Planes and Down Pipes
Predrag Cvitanovic, Georgia Institute of Technology


Wednesday, August 11

10:30

Transport and Collective Dynamics in Bacterial Swimming
Michael Graham, University of Wisconsin, Madison

5:00

Public Lecture, Redfield Auditorium - Reception to follow (see link above)

Mathematics in the Real World:  From Brain Tumors to Saving Marriages
James Murray, University of Washington and University of Oxford


Thursday, August 12

10:30

Tibetan Singing Bowls (and the nature of reality)
John Bush, MIT

2:30

Title to be announced
Tom Peacock, MIT


Friday, August 13

10:30

The Teapot Effect and Free Boundary Flows
Joe Keller, Stanford University


August 16 - 20

No lectures scheduled this week

Fellows Presentations


Tuesday, August 24

10:00

Finding Lagrangian Structures via the Application of Braid Theory
Michael Allshouse, MIT

11:00

Dynamics of Vorticity Defects in Stratified Shear
Anubhab Roy, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research (JNCASR)

2:30

On-Off Intermittency in Locally Connected Maps
Woosok Moon, Yale University

3:30

Optimal Mixing on a Sphere
Amanda O'Rourke, Princeton University


Wednesday, August 25

10:00

Mixing in Stratified Sheared Flows - Dynamics of the Staircases
Georgy Manucharyan, Yale University

11:00

Cave Rings
Emma Thompson, University of Cambridge

2:30

Trajectories of a Treadmilling Swimmer - Can it Escape from its Image?
Kiori Obuse, Kyoto University

3:30

Who ate Whom?  Age-Structured Trophic Dynamics
David Goluskin, Columbia University


Thursday, August 26

10:30

Swimming in Mud
Sam Pegler, University of Cambridge

Last updated: October 6, 2010