2016 Lecture Series Schedule

SHARE THIS:

"Fluid -Structure Interaction in the Living Environment"

Principal Lecturers
Michael Shelley, New York University
Peko Hosoi, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Week 1 - Principal Lectures

Monday, June 20
A primer on Continuum and fluid mechanics
Michael Shelley

Tuesday, June 21
Canonical fluid-structure problems: elastic structures interacting with high-speed flows
Michael Shelley

Wednesday, June 22
Flapping flight: symmetry breaking and the transition to flapping flight
Michael Shelley

Thursday, June 23
High Re-fluid structure interactions in sports
Peko Hosoi

Friday, June 24
Low Reynolds number swimming introduction:  RFT and a slender-body theory teaser, three-link swimmer, single flagellum, two flagella, optimization
Peko Hosoi

Week 2 - Principal Lectures

Monday, June 27
Low Reynolds number swimming introduction: RFT and a slender-body theory teaser, three-link swimmer, single flagellum, two flagella optimization (cont'd)
Peko Hosoi

Some (unexpected) boundary effects in thermal convection
Jun Zhang

Tuesday, June 28
Low Reynolds number phenomena
Michael Shelley

Wednesday, June 29
Collective behavior at low Reynolds number
Michael Shelley

Thursday, June 30
Thin films with elastic boundaries
Peko Hosoi

Friday, July 1
Hydrodynamics of tectured surfaces: hair textures, symmetry breaking, Darcy-Brinkman flow
Peko Hosoi

Week 3

Monday, July 4
Holiday

Tuesday, July 5
Applications of optimization and optimal control to some fundamental problems in mathematical fluid dynamics
Charlie Doering, University of Michigan

Wednesday, July 6
Mechanics of swimming microorganisms in complex fluids
Tom Powers, Brown University

Thursday, July 7
Fluid-structure interactions in plant and animal physiology
Oliver Jensen, University of Manchester

Friday, July 8
Flows induced by 1D, 2D, and 3D internal wavepackets
Bruce Sutherland, University of Alberta

Week 4

Monday, July 11
Warm-water pathways towards Kangerdlugssuaq Fjord
Renske Gelderloos, Johns Hopkins University

Tuesday, July 12
Overturned traveling interfacial waves
Benjamin Akers, Air Force Institute of Technology

Wednesday, July 13
Energy dissipation in rotating turbulence
Basile Gallet, CEA Saclay

Thursday, July 14
Bounding average quantities:  typical limitations and how to surmount them
David Goluskin, University of Michigan

Friday, July 15
Flow in highly deformable porous media: the coffee press and other problems
Duncan Hewitt, University of Cambridge

Week 5

Monday, July 18
The struction, function, and evolution of the human foot
Shreyas Mandre, Brown University

Tuesday, July 19
Topographic beta-plane turbulence and form stress
Navid Constantinou, Scripps

Wednesday, July 20
How bodies erode and dissolve in fluid flows
Nick Moore, Florida State University

Thursday, July 21
Bio-inspired flow systems: from wetting to particle dispersal
Emilie Dressaire, New York University

Friday, July 22
Is swimming obstructed by dead water?
Leo Maas, NIOZ

Week 6

Monday, July 25
A dynamical system for interacting flapping swimmers
Anand Oza, New York University

Tuesday, July 26
A multi-basin residual mean-model for the global overturning circulation
Andy Thompson, California Institute of Technology

Wednesday, July 27
Flow-structure interaction at the micro-scale
Megan Davies Wykes, New York University

Thursday, July 28
Transient growth and transition to turbulence in strongly stratified shear flows
Alexis Kaminski, University of Cambridge

Friday, July 29
Melting icebergs and glaciers
Claudia Cenedese, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

Week 7

Monday, August 1
Sinking labile particles and the flux of organic matter in the ocean
Amala Mahadevan, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

Tuesday, August 2
Ice sheets with rapid basal sliding
Ian Hewitt, University of Oxford

Wednesday, August 3
Sniffing with hairy noses in turbulent odor plumes
Mimi Koehl, University of California, Berkeley

Thursday, August 4
Dimensions of continents and oceans - water has carved a perfect cistern
Jack Whitehead, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

SEARS PUBLIC LECTURE
Swimming and crawling in a turbulent world
Mimi Koehl, University of California, Berkeley

Friday, August 5
Magnetohydrodynamics and elastic buckling
Geoff Vasil, University of Sydney

Week 8

Monday, August 8
Entrapment, escape, and diffusion of swimming bodies in complex environments
Saverio Spagnolie, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Tuesday, August 9
Shaping interfaces
Alban Sauret, SVI CNRS/Saint-Gobain

Wednesday, August 10
Vortices in sinusoidal jets
Glenn Flierl, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Thursday, August 11
The dynamics of marine ice sheets
Grae Worster, University of Cambridge

Friday, August 12
Cosmical gas dynamics
Ed Spiegel, Columbia University

Week 10 - Fellows' Presentations

Tuesday, August 23

The effects of Kelvin and topographic Rossby waves in Denmark Strait overflow
Oceane Richet, École Polytechnique

A new vortex method for modeling multiple wakes
Paula Doubrawa, Cornell University

Modeling morphodynamics of a tidally forced wetland
Qi Li, Princeton University

Meltwater percolation and refreezing in compacting snow
Colin Meyer, Harvard University

Wednesday, August 24

Rolling resistance on sand
Keaton Burns, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Splash and spray of a partially submerged rotating disk
Anna Skipper, Georgia Institute of Technology

Simple models of ice distribution and mixed layer depths in the Fram Strait
Sahil Agarwal, Yale University

A brief introduction to eroding bodies in a background flow
Jason Olsthoorn, University of Cambridge

Thursday, August 25

Capillary sorting: thin-film flows of particles
Michael Gomez, University of Oxford

Dynamics of active droplets
Christopher Miles, University of Michigan