WHOI  WHOI People  

2000 Lecture Series Schedule

June 19 - June 30
Large Scale Climatology of the Atmosphere
Isaac Held, Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory, NOAA / Princeton University



Monday, June 19
10:00
Isaac Held



Tuesday, June 20
10:00
Isaac Held



Wednesday, June 21
10:00
Isaac Held



Thursday, June 22
10:00
Isaac Held



Friday, June 23
10:00
Isaac Held



Monday, June 26
10:00
Isaac Held



Tuesday, June 27
10:00
Isaac Held



Wednesday, June 28
10:00
Isaac Held

3:30
Wayne Schubert, Colorado State University
Interpretting the ITCZ and Hadley Circulation in Terms of Potential Vorticity Dynamics



Thursday, June 29
10:00
Isaac Held

2:00
Alan Plumb, Massachussettes Institute of Technology
Monsoons: Localized Hadley Circulations



Friday, June 30
10:00
Isaac Held



Monday, July 3
10:00
Mike Cullen, European Center for Medium Range Weather Forecasts
Understanding Mesoscale Dynamics Using Semi-Geostrophic Theory



Tuesday, July 4
Holiday - No Lecture



Wednesday, July 5
10:00
Mike Cullen, European Center for Medium Range Weather Forecasts
Understanding Large-Scale Atmospheric Circulations Using Semi-Geostrophic Theory



Thursday, July 6
10:00
Oliver Buhler, University of St. Andrews, UK
Wave-mean Interactions Involving Gravity Waves

2:00
Paul Dellar, University of Cambridge, UK
Lattice Boltzmann Methods for GFD



Friday, July 7
10:00
Oliver Buhler, University of St. Andrews, UK
Gravity Wave Parametrizations and Conservation Laws



Monday, July 10
10:00
Geoff Vallis, GFDL/Princeton University
Equilibration of Eddies in the Ocean and Atmosphere



Tuesday, July 11
10:00
Jeff Moehlis, Princeton University
Bursts in Binary Fluid Convection



Wednesday, July 12
10:00
Eric Chassignet, University of Miami
On the Importance of Surface Forcing in Numerical Simulations of the North Atlantic Ocean



Thursday, July 13
10:00
Paul Dellar, University of Cambridge, UK
Selective Decay and Geostrophic Adjustment



Friday, July 14
10:00
Joe Keller, Stanford University
Walking On Water



Monday, July 17
10:00
Wayne Schubert, Colorado State University
Potential Vorticity in a Moist Atmosphere

2:00
Brian Arbic, MIT/WHOI Joint Program
What Controls the Vertical Structure and Lengthscales of Mid-Ocean Eddies?



Tuesday, July 18
10:00
Gudrun Magnusdottir, University of California, Irvine
The Response of the Atmospheric Heat Transport to Different Configurations of Implied Oceanic Heat Transport



Wednesday, July 19
10:00
Michael Allison, NASA Goddard Institute for Space Studies
PV Perspectives on Planetary Circulations

2:00
Huijun Yang, University of South Florida
A Simple Theory for Ocean Climate Variability



Thursday, July 20
10:00
Alan Plumb, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Three-Dimensional Eddy Parameterization



Friday, July 21
10:00
Michael Allison, NASA Goddard Institute for Space Studies
A Dynamical Model for Jupiter's Thermocline



Monday, July 24
10:00
Alan Plumb, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Circulation in the Stratosphere



Tuesday, July 25
10:00
Kevin Prendergast, Columbia University
Barred Spirals and BGK Hydrocodes



Wednesday, July 26
10:00
Isaac Held, Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory, NOAA / Princeton University
Surface Quasigeostrophic Turbulence

8:00 PM  *Special Evening Lecture*
Ed Spiegel, Columbia University
Heating the Universe



Thursday, July 27
10:00
Rick Rosen, Atmospheric and Environmental Research, Inc.
Angular Momentum of the 20th and 21st Centuries



Friday, July 28
10:00
Jean-Luc Thiffeault, Columbia University
The Wondrous Exponents of Dr. Lyapunov



Monday, July 31
10:00
Isaac Held, Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory, NOAA / Princeton University
Some Aspects of Turbulent Moist Convection



Tuesday, August 1
10:00
Balu Nadiga, Los Alamos Laboratory
A New Dynamical Mechanism for Variabilty in the Double Gyre Circualtion



Wednesday, August 2
10:00
Stefan Llewellyn-Smith, University of California, San Diego
Wave Scattering by Vortices

2:00
Balu Nadiga, Los Alamos Laboratory
Four-gyre Circulation With Double-gyre Wind Forcing and Eddy Parameterization: Barotropic Case



Thursday, August 3
10:00
Wayne Schubert, Colorado State University
Hurricane Dynamics



Friday, August 4
10:00
Lou Howard, Massachusetts Institute of Technology/FSU
Weak Water Waves Washing Widely Over a Wavy Wall



Monday, August 7
10:00
Amala Mahadevan, Atmospheric and Environmental Research, Inc.
The Impact of Fronts on Upper Ocean Biogeochemistry

2:00
Willem Malkus, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Disorder to Order



Tuesday, August 8
10:00
Jeff Hollingsworth, NASA, Ames Research Center/SJSUF
General Circulation and Modeling of Mars' Atmosphere



Wednesday, August 9
10:00
Jeff Hollingsworth, NASA, Ames Research Center/SJSUF
Cyclogenesis and Frontal Waves During Northern Early Spring and Late Summer on Mars



Thursday, August 10
10:00
John Marshall, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Circumpolar Currents



Friday, August 11
2:00 PM
Oliver Buhler, University of St. Andrews, UK
Statistical Mechanics of Beached Vortices



Monday, August 14
10:00
Claes Rooth, University of Miami
Ocean-Atmosphere Energy Flux Partitioning



Tuesday, August 15
10:00
Luanne Thompson, University of Washington
The Influence of the Seasonal Cycle on Rossby Waves



Wednesday, August 16
10:00
Lenny Smith, Oxford University
Predicting Chaos: How is the Atmosphere Different From an Electric Circuit?



Thursday, August 17
10:00
Jim Anderson, Stevens Institute of Technology
What is a Macroscopic Variable?



Friday, August 18
10:00
Jie Yu, Florida Atlantic University
Waves and Nearshore Currents



Monday, August 21
No Lecture Today



Tuesday, August 22
10:00
Tivon Jacobson, New York University
Longshore Currents, Vorticity Dynamics and Barred Beaches

11:00
Christopher Walker, University of California, Irvine
What Makes Oceanic Gravity Currents Flow Downhill

2:00
Christos Mitas, University of Illinois
Eddy PV Fluxes in a One-Dimensional Model of Quasi-Geostrophic Turbulence

3:00
Cheryl Lacotta, University of Arizona
Can a Simple Two-Layer Model Capture the Structure of Easterly Waves?



Wednesday, August 23
10:00
Karen Shell, Scripps Institution of Oceanography
Superrotation in an Axisymmetric Shallow Water Model of the Upper Troposphere

11:00
Giulio Boccaletti, Princeton University
Monsoons in a Moist Axially Symmetric Model of the Atmosphere

2:00
Zhiming Kuang, California Institute of Technology
A Truncated Model of Finite-Amplitude Baroclinic Waves in a Channel

3:00
Christian Sonekan, University of Charleston
Experimental Investigation of a Theory for Oceanic Convection

4:00
Lucy Campbell, McGill University, CANADA
A Quasi-Biennial Oscillation Generated by Gravity Wave Breaking  

Last updated: February 12, 2007