WHOI  WHOI People  

2009 Student Projects

Geodynamics supervisors and potential projects


Anne Cohen (acohen@whoi.edu): Paleoclimate records in corals

Delia Oppo (doppo@whoi.edu): Determining the late deglacial/Holocene history of upwelling in Indonesia region of western Pacific warm pool and its relationship to hypotheses about changes in the strength of Asian monsoons and the latitude of the intertropical convergence zones. 

Dan McCorkle (dmccorkle@whoi.edu): Bioturbation modeling

Brian Tucholke (btucholke@whoi.edu): Morphology and sedimentary processes in Hydrographer submarine canyon, New England continental slope (Data: Multibeam bathymetry and backscatter amplitude; plus incorporation of any archived 3.5/12 kHz profiles, seismic profiles, and seafloor samples that may be available).

Bill Curry (wcurry@whoi.edu): Sea surface temperature proxy calibration using Ocean Flux Program sediment trap samples.  A data analysis project using new stable isotope data for G. ruber and real-time measurements of seawater temperature and salinity.

Bill Curry (wcurry@whoi.edu): An evaluation of changes in sedimentation and deep water circulation at Bermuda Rise during the last 160,000 years.  A data analysis project using new stable isotope data for planktonic/benthic foraminifera and new high-resolution elemental measurements from the scanning XRF.  This project uses the KNR191 long piston cores from Bermuda Rise.

Joan Bernhard (jbernhard@whoi.edu), Dan McCorkle (dmccorkle@whoi.edu): Ocean acidification has recently been shown to affect the weight of planktic foraminiferal tests (shells; Moy et al. 2009 Nature Geosciences).  An ongoing project is assessing the survival of benthic foraminifera to decreased pH resultant from predicted oceanic pCO2 increases over the next ~200 years.  One aspect of that project is to document the effect of these 6-week experimental treatments on calcareous foraminiferal test microstructure and weight.  Samples (controls and two [CO2] treatments, multiple species) are ready to be weighed with a microanalytical balance and then imaged with Scanning Electron Microscopy.  The student will also be expected to statistically analyze the data. 

Bill Thompson (wthompson@whoi.edu): Determining diagenetically-induced variability in U/Th ages using sub-samples of large individual corals.

 

Last updated: March 11, 2009