2016 Geodynamics Seminar Series: Ice-Ocean Interaction

SHARE THIS:

2016 Geodynamics Study Tour Itinerary

June 12 - 21, 2106
Day Date Travel Activity Night Location
Sun 12-Jun Depart BOS 8:45PM (Iceland Air flight #632) red-eye to Iceland plane
Mon 13-Jun arrive KEF (05:45) > Laugarvatn area  pick up vehicles, get provisions, drive to Laugarvatn area via Thingvellir Héraðsskólinn
Tue 14-Jun Laugarvatn > Myr ice cap (Pakgil Campsite) drive to Fulfoss in AM, drive to campground at Myr ice cap, camp in PM Pakgil Campsite
Wed 15-Jun Myr ice cap  glaciers, hiking Pakgil Campsite
Thu 16-Jun Myr ice cap > Skaftafell National Park  drive to Skaftafell National Park; short hikes,  set up camp Skaftafell National Park
Fri 17-Jun Skaftafell National Park glacier day hike, boat tour on Fjallsárlón glacier lagoon Skaftafell National Park
Sat 18-Jun Skaftafell National Park drive to Jökulsárlón lagooon, South coast river/icebergs on beach Skaftafell National Park
Sun 19-Jun Skaftafell National Park >  RKV drive RKV in AM, stop at Selfoss geyser en route, PM in RKV B14 Guest House, Reykjavik
Mon 20-Jun RKV > KEF depart RKV AM  / Reykjanes Peninsula /mid Atlantic ridge/hot springs PM B14 Guest House, Reykjavik
Tue 21-Jun KEF flight #633 > BOS (depart 5:40PM, arrive 7:15PM) return rental vehicles, fly home n/a