WHOI  WHOI People  

Current Topic and Lecture Schedule

Program Dates: June 15 to August 21, 2015

Lectures on "Stochastic Processes in Atmospheric and Oceanic Dynamics".

Principal Lectures
Charles Doering, University of Michigan
Henk Dijkstra, Utrech University
10:00 AM - 12:00 Noon

****Schedule of Principal Lectures****

Week 1, June 15 - 19

Charles Doering
Grounding in the mathematical concepts of stochastic processes


Week 2, June 22 - 26

Henk Dijkstra
Explore how these theoretical concepts play out in Geophysical Fluid Dynamics


Lectures begin at 10:30 AM

Week 3

Monday, June 29
Oliver Bühler
Particle dispersion by linear and nonlinear stochastic waves

Tuesday, June 30 (Note: the Sears Lecture is at 5 p.m.)
Rich Kerswell
Boundary inflow, Taylor-Couette flow and accretion disks

PUBLIC LECTURE, 5:00 PM, Redfield Auditorium (reception to follow)
Susan Solom, MIT

Ozone Depletion: A Science and Policy Success Story

Wednesday, July 1

Fabio Del Sordo
Understanding stellar activity to search for Earth-like exoplanets

Thursday, July 2

Colm Caulfield
Stirring solutions: Mixing industrial challenges with mathematics

Friday, July 3

HOLIDAY


Week 4

Monday, July 6
Tuesday, July 7
Wednesday, July 8
Thursday, July 9
Friday, July 10


Week 5

Monday, July 13
Tuesday, July 14
Wednesday, July 15
Thursday, July 16
Friday, July 17

Week 6

Monday, July 20
Tuesday, July 21
Wednesday, July 22
Thursday, July 23


Friday, July 24
Understanding coupled deformation of Fluids + Granular media: mplications to liquefaction, Faults and Landslides
Einat Aharaonv


Week 7

Monday, July 27
Tuesday, July 28
Wednesday, July 29
Thursday, July 30
Friday, July 31

Week 8

Monday, August 3
Tuesday, August 4
Wednesday, August 5

Thursday, August 6
Friday, August 7



Week 9 - August 10

Quiet Week: No lectures

Week 10 - August 17 - 21


Fellows' presentations