WHOI 2003 Annual Report subnav

President's ReportResearchAcademic ProgramsVessels & VoyagesOutreachFinancialsWHOI People

Institution Outreach
WHOI in the News
Public Policy
Science Policy


Outreach > Science Policy

Science Policy

Scientists at WHOI contribute to the discussion of science policy issues at the national and international levels. A selection of their activities in 2003 is given here.

Scientist Policy
Don Anderson Global Ecology and Oceanography of Harmful Algal Blooms (GEOHAB), Scientific Committee on Oceanic Research, Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission, United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)
Director, U.S. National Office for Marine Biotoxins and Harmful Algal Blooms
Bob Beardsley Member, Atmospheric Sciences and Climate Board, NRC
Bill Curry Chair, Science Committee, International Marine Past Global Changes Study (IMAGES )
Member, Earth System History Steering Committee, National Science Foundation (NSF)
Bob Detrick Chair, Board of Governors, Joint Oceanographic Institutions (JOI)
Chair, Implementation of a Seafloor Observatory Network of Oceanographic Research Study, NAS/NRC
Advisory Committee, NSF Geosciences Directorate
Member, Board of Governors, International Ocean Drilling Program (IODP) Management International
Scott Doney U.S. Carbon Cycle Science Program Scientific Steering Group, U.S. Global Change Research Program
Bob Gagosian Member, Science Advisory Board, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
Member, Board of Governors, Consortium on Oceanographic Research and Education
Rocky Geyer NAS/NRC Ocean Studies Board**
Stan Hart NAS/NRC Ocean Studies Board**
Greg Hirth Member, MARGINS Steering Committee, NSF
Susan Humphris Member, Science Planning and Policy Oversight Committee, IODP
U.S. Science Support Program Education Steering Committee, JOI
Ocean Exploration Committee, NRC
Lloyd Keigwin Chair, Rapid Climate Change Program Steering Committee, Natural Environmental Research Council, U.K.
Olivier Marchal Steering Committee Scientific Expert, IMAGES
Judy McDowell Member, Committee on Oil in the Sea-Update on Inputs, Fate and Effects, NRC
Lauren Mullineaux Steering Committee, Scientific Committee on Time Series Program, NSF
Dan Repeta Member, Carbon Sequestration Panel, Department of Energy
Tim Shank U.S. Deep Submergence Science Committee, University-National Oceanographic Laboratory System
Deborah Smith Committee Member, Review of NOAA’s National Geophysical Data Center, NRC
Andy Solow Future of Deep Submergence Committee, NRC
John Stegeman Chair of Advisory Board, Environmental Health Sciences Center, National Institutes of Health
Peter Tyack Member, Committee of Scientific Advisors on Marine Mammals, Marine Mammal Commission
Bob Weller Member, Global Ocean Observing System Capacity Building Panel, UNESCO/World Meteorological Organization
Member, Committee to Review the Climate Change Strategic Plan, NRC
Member, Senior Research Council, NOAA
Member, Ocean Observations Panel for Climate, UNESCO/Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission
Peter Wiebe Chair, Executive Committee, U.S. Global Ocean Ecosystem Dynamics Georges Bank Program
U.S. Representative, Oceanography Committee, International Council for the Exploration of the Sea

*The U.S. Commission on Ocean Policy is establishing findings and making recommendations to the President and Congress for a coordinated and comprehensive national ocean policy.

**The Ocean Studies Board was established by the National Research Council to advise the U.S. federal government on issues of ocean science, engineering, and policy.