Please note: You are viewing the unstyled version of this website. Either your browser does not support CSS (cascading style sheets) or it has been disabled. Skip navigation.

Security

  Email    Print  PDF  Change text to small (default) Change text to medium Change text to large

WHOI's Security Force provides after-hours security during the week from 4:00 PM until 8:00 AM the next morning. On weekends and holidays, the Security Force maintains twenty-four hour, around-the-clock security. One member of the staff is always stationed at the switchboard in the Smith Lobby to answer all incoming telephone calls and to monitor the Alarm Systems. This person is also responsible for the Smith, Bigelow, and Iselin buildings and the main WHOI dock. Another Security guard is stationed in the Clark Lobby and is responsible for all Quissett buildings, grounds, and parking lots. A third Security guard is stationed in the Redfield Building and performs security checks of all Village buildings, grounds, parking lots, and Dyer's Dock. WHOI's Guard Force provides after-hours security during the week from 4:00 PM until 8:00 AM the next morning. On weekends and holidays, the Guard Force maintains twenty-four hour, around-the-clock security.

How can we help you?
If you have any business impacting the Security force such as: guests arriving, ships or recreational boats, outside contractors, or building maintenance issues; please contact Bill Sparks, Night Services Supervisor, Facility Security Officer, at (508) 289-3280 or wsparks@whoi.edu.

If you are working after normal business hours, weekends or Holidays please contact the Smith Guard at x3280 or dial "0" and let them know you'll be working. Give them the name of the building, office number, time you'll be working. If you wish a guard to check on you in addition to their normal rounds advise the Smith guard at that time. If you need an escort to your vehicle you can arrange one by notifying the Smith guard.

After-Hours Deliveries
Please review the Saturday Delivery information on the web, located under the Distribution, Shipping and Receiving Guide. If you have late notice deliveries or unable to notify Shipping/Receiving, or if an order is being issued via Procurement; please make sure the Smith Guard is notified (x3280) so that we can accept your delivery.

Staff
Name Position Location Phone Email
William Sparks Security Supervisor Smith Lobby (508) 289-3280 wsparks@whoi.edu
Robert Hendricks Senior Security Guard Smith Lobby (508) 289-3280 rhendricks@whoi.edu
Scott Formisani Senior Security Guard Smith Lobby (508) 289-3280 sformisani@whoi.edu
Doyal Richerson Senior Security Guard Smith Lobby (508) 289-3280 dricherson@whoi.edu
John Richerson Senior Security Guard Smith Lobby (508) 289-3280 jricherson@whoi.edu
Linda Cataldo Senior Security Guard Smith Lobby (508) 289-3280 lcataldo@whoi.edu
Norman A. Penman Security Guard Smith Lobby (508) 289-3280 npenman@whoi.edu
Rene Jette Security Guard Smith Lobby (508) 289-3280 rjette@whoi.edu
Vasco Pires Security Guard - Casual Smith Lobby (508) 289-3280 vpires@whoi.edu


Last updated: November 25, 2013
 


whoi logo

Copyright ©2007 Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, All Rights Reserved, Privacy Policy.
Problems or questions about the site, please contact webdev@whoi.edu
Site Map | WHOI.edu Internal | WHOI.edu External | Contact