The 2005 WHOI 75th Anniversary Anything-But-a-Boat Regatta featured thirteen entries crewed by about 50 people. (Photo by Jayne Doucette)

Thirteen Teams Compete for Rubber Ducky in 2005 "Anything-but-a-Boat" Regatta

At the sound of a cannon, thirteen human-powered craft pushed off into Woods Hole's Great Harbor on August 6, 2005, to help celebrate WHOI's 75th anniversary with an "Anything-But-a-Boat" Regatta. Constructed of empty water bottles, hollow tubes, and anything else that would float (but no boat or surf board hulls allowed), they rounded two marks in the harbor and returned to the beach with participants wet, tired, and smiling.

This was a reprise of several similar regattas initiated in 1980 during the Institution's 50th anniversary year by Steve Boyd, now of Hydros, Inc., who also served as the 2005 commodore for the event.

The some 50 participants each received a regatta T-shirt (duplicates are available at the Exhibit Center Gift Shop), and four prizes were awarded. The first-to-cross-the-finish-line Rubber Ducky Award went to James Cleary pumping along in Boar's Head. Matt Bumpus took the Best Engineered trophy with Serpent's Rainbow, while the Most Creative prize went to Joint Program student David Steube and company for their un-named craft. H2O got the Finding Nemo nod for being most submerged.

The "Anything-But-a-Boat" Regatta organizing committee included Hovey Clifford, Vicky Cullen, Ann Devenish (co-chair), Kathy Elder, Mike LaGrassa (cochair), Dina Pandya, and Rick Rupan. Safety boats were operated by Mark Dennett, Matt Gould, and Jay Sisson, Rick Trask assembled the regatta marks, and Paul Oberlander designed the event T-shirts. The committee thanks them and everyone else who contributed to the success of this event!



whoi 75th logo